The Prince of Wales Medal for Arts Philanthropy

The Prince of Wales Medal for Arts Philanthropy was first awarded to five honourees in 2008 and it aims to recognise inspirational philanthropists who capture the imagination of the wider society through their support to the arts.

The honourees, UK or international, are recognised for their philanthropic support of the nation’s cultural life over a period of time or in recognition of a major gift.

HRH The Prince of Wales presented his 2011 Medals for Arts Philanthropy at a special ceremony at Clarence House on 17 November 2011. The Medal celebrates outstanding individuals who support the arts in the UK.

2011 honourees

Lloyd Dorfman
Lady Hobson
Mike and Jean Oglesby
Jonathan Ruffer
Theresa Sackler

2010 honourees

Mr Richard Broyd
Mr Anthony d’Offay & Mrs Anne d’Offay
Helen Thorpe
Mr and Mrs David Seligman OBE FRWCMD
(The late) Lord Wolfson & Family

2009 honourees

Michael and Dorothy Hintze
Dr Keith Howard
Donald MacDonald CBE and Louise MacDonald
Mrs Mary Weston CBE
Sir John Zochonis

2008 honourees

Dame Vivien Duffield CBE
Roger De Haan CBE
Dr Carol Høgel CBE
Mr Martin and Carmel Naughton
Lord and Lady Sainsbury

Why is it important to honour our cultural philanthropists?

  • Individual giving in the arts is the fastest growing and largest segment of income for arts organisations – making up 55% of total private investment.
  • Donor care is central to any successful on-going relationship and recognition for support is one key way for arts organisations to grow and deepen support.

Our aim is also to promote new giving by highlighting the numerous ways that individuals can have an impact on arts organisations.